The Philippine Normal University (PNUFilipinoPamantasang Normal ng Pilipinas[7]) is a public coeducational teacher education and research university in the Philippines. It was established in 1901 through Act No. 74 of the Philippine Commission “for the education of natives of the Islands in the science of teaching”.[8] It has campuses in Manila, North Luzon, South Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Pursuant to Republic Act No. 9647, it is the country’s National Center for Teacher Education.[9]

In addition to the powers and functions provided for in its charter, the university is mandated to conduct researches, build and develop a database of education policies, and provide technical support to the Department of Education and the Commission on Higher Education, as well as assistance to the Congress of the Philippines, in the design and analysis of programs, projects, and legislative proposals concerning teacher training, teacher education, continuing professional education of teachers and academic supervisors, teacher education curricula, and other issues affecting teacher education.[9]